Home �   IT Service Management News�  Index

IRCA launches new IT Service Management Program

The International Register of Certificated Auditors (IRCA) announced March 8 the launch of a new Information Technology Service Management Systems (ITSMS) Auditor certification program.
Mar 19, 2007

ITSM Watch Staff

The new program was developed in response to the release of the international standard ISO/IEC 20000; the first worldwide standard specifically aimed at IT Service Management.

In a statement IRCA’s ITSMS Program Director, Simon Feary, said “[A]uditor competence is fundamental to any systems certification scheme and this program will provide confidence to business and industry worldwide that auditors of IT service management systems have the necessary knowledge, skills and attributes.”

IRCA offers certification across six auditor grades for ITSMS auditors, consultants and practitioners. Auditor training organizations will benefit from the opportunity to apply for IRCA course certification for their IT Service Management auditor training courses against four different course types: Foundation, Internal Auditor, Lead Auditor and Conversion Auditor.

The IRCA ITSMS Auditor program was also developed in conjunction with Japan Information Processing Development Corporation (JIPDEC).

ISO/IEC 20000

Global trade is reliant on information technology and at present almost all companies outsource aspects of their IT services. As a result, the breakdown of key IT systems and services poses a considerable risk to business continuity. Certification to ISO/IEC 20000 provides confidence that IT suppliers can design and supply IT services that consistently meet customer needs.

ISO/IEC 20000 is aligned with and complementary to the process approach defined within ITIL. This approach is afforded greater credibility by the fact that it has been developed in conjunction with the Information Technology Service Management Forum (itSMF), an independent and internationally recognized forum for IT Service Management professionals worldwide.

The criteria for certification as an Information Technology Service Management Auditor is downloadable from our website or contact us directly for more information at irca@irca.org.

Please note that IRCA will accept applications for auditor and training course certification to this program from March 12, 2007.

IT Management Daily Newsletter

Related Articles

Most Popular